0 3 min 3 weeks

India, as part of its G20 Presidency from December 2022 to November 2023, is planning to host five key meetings focusing on the “culture track” in Khajuraho, Bhubaneswar, Hampi, and Agra, as reported by The Indian Express.

These cities were selected primarily for their famous monuments and UNESCO World Heritage Sites, such as the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort in Uttar Pradesh, the Hindu and Jain temples of Khajuraho in Madhya Pradesh, the Konark Sun Temple near Bhubaneswar in Odisha, and the sites in Hampi, Karnataka. Agra will host two of the five meetings.

Last month, the Government announced a total of 215 meetings across 55 sites in various states during India’s G20 presidency. The main summit will take place in September at the International Exhibition Cum Convention Centre at Pragati Maidan, currently under construction and set to be completed by mid-2023.

For the culture track, a G20 Secretariat has been established in the Ministry of Culture, which will engage a professional agency for research, documentation, and coordination related to the G20 culture work-stream. In addition to the five meetings, around 250 cultural events will be held for delegates during the G20 presidency.

The agenda for the meetings focuses on shaping the global agenda on culture, including the protection and restitution of cultural property, advancement of traditional cultural practices for sustainable living, promotion of cultural and creative industries for livelihood generation, and preservation and dissemination of culture through technology.

Earlier, Siliguri, Rann of Kutch, Kashmir, and had been selected as destinations for various G20 meetings by the Ministry of Tourism. India’s presidency will also serve as an opportunity to promote the country as a preferred tourist destination, with delegates participating in familiarization tours.

During the G20 Presidency starting on December 1 this year, India will invite Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain, and the UAE as guest countries. The G20 consists of 19 countries and the European Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *